logo img

Virat Kohli appointed India’s limited-overs captain

nbook.in a4auto.com

Virat Kohli was on Friday heralded as the new captain of the Indian cricket team in limited-overs cricket, ahead of their three-match ODI series against England starting January 15. Kohli’s ascension to the leadership post follows MS Dhoni’s resignation as the Indian captain in limited-overs format. The Indian squad was announced at around 4.20 PM IST after a long delay due to the ongoing tussle between the BCCI and the Lodha Committee. There were many surprises in the squad as Yuvraj Singh and Shikhar Dhawan returned for the ODI series. However, there were bigger surprises in the T20I side as explosive Delhi batsman Rishabh Pant received his maiden call-up, whereas Ashish Nehra returned after a long injury lay-off since the IPL last year.

Ajinkya Rahane returned to the national side after recovering from a finger injury which he suffered in the series against England. Nehra had suffered a hamstring injury during the IPL playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad and has made a comeback into the T20I side. On the other hand, Umesh Yadav was picked only for the ODIs. India will have a new opening pair in the two upcoming series as Rohit Sharma continues to remain injured. The selectors also announced two separate teams to play England in two warm-up matches ahead of the limited-overs series.

The meeting of the Indian selectors was slated to start at 12.30 PM local time, Mumbai. But drama between the BCCI and the Lodha Committee ensued and it began only after 3.00 PM. According to the BCCI constitution, the selection meeting can be convened only by either the BCCI president or the secretary. However, due to the removal of Anurag Thakur (president) and Ajay Shirke (secretary), there was last-minute drama at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. According to reports, Amitabh Chaudhary — who is the acting secretary — was not intimated by BCCI CEO Rahul Johri about his presence.

Chaudhary had sent across a request asking if the meeting could be delayed but in an email, Lodha Committee informed BCCI that he was ineligible to attend the meeting. According to ESPNCricinfo, Lodha Committee secretary Gopal Sankaranarayanan wrote, “It is clarified that Mr. Amitabh Chaudhary stands disqualified and is no longer the joint secretary of the BCCI or an office bearer of the BCCI or a State Association by virtue of the orders of the Supreme Court dated 2.1.2017 and 3.1.2017. As a result, he has no authority to interfere with the BCCI and its functioning or with the directions of this Committee. Please proceed with the Selection Committee Meeting as scheduled.”  At last, the Lodha Committee gave its go ahead and it emerged that as CEO, Johri could convene the meeting. It was also

England will be returning to India to complete their tour, after a long break of 25 days for Christmas and the New Year. In the first leg of their India tour, England were defeated 0-4 in a five-Test series. This was India’s first win over England in the last three series. The ODI series between India and England begins on January 15, with the first match scheduled at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune. The second ODI will be played on January 19 at the Barabati Stadium in Cuttack, whereas the third and final match will be at the iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata on January 22.

The two teams will then head into a three-T20I series. The Green Park Stadium in Kanpur will host the first T20I on January 26, whereas the second game will be at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur on January 29. The third and final contest of England’s tour of India 2016-17 will be at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on February 1.

After leading India in 199 ODIs and 72 T20Is, Dhoni stepped down from the post of captaincy on Wednesday night, informing the BCCI about it. The Indian cricket board then made a formal announcement of Dhoni’s resignation.

India squad for ODIs vs England: KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (wk), Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav.

India squad for T20Is vs England: KL Rahul, Mandeep Singh, Virat Kohli (c), MS Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra.

India A squad for 1st warm-up match vs England: Shikhar Dhawan, Mandeep Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (c&wk), Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ashish Nehra, Mohit Sharma, Siddharth Kaul.

India A squad for 2nd warm-up match vs England: Rishabh Pant, Ajinkya Rahane (c), Suresh Raina, Deepak Hooda, Ishan Kishan, Sheldon Jackson, Vijay Shankar, Shahbaz Nadeem, Parvez Rasool, Vijay Kumar, Pradeep Sangwan, Ashoke Dinda.


Subscribe to our newsletter

We will shoot you the recent blogs right in to your inbox.